- The Number That Matters: 41 of 64
- What 41 Correct Answers Actually Means
- Exam Format and How Items Are Counted
- Where Your 41 Answers Come From: Domain Weights
- What IBM Has Not Published
- What the Official Sample Reveals
- Scope Boundaries That Cost Points
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Weights
- Delivery, Fees and Exam-Day Mechanics
- Avoiding Mislabeled Information About This Code
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The IBM Security QRadar SIEM V7.5 Analysis exam has 64 questions, 90 minutes, and a passing requirement of 41 correct answers.
- Threat Hunting (24%), Offense Analysis (23%) and Searching and Reporting (21%) together make up 68% of the exam.
- IBM has not published a population pass rate or renewal interval; treat any claimed figure with suspicion.
- The official sample shows single-answer, multiple-answer and ordering items, and it does not predict exam success.
The Number That Matters: 41 of 64
Most certification pages bury the passing criterion in vague language. For the IBM Certified Analyst - Security QRadar SIEM V7.5 credential, the requirement is stated plainly: you need 41 correct answers on an exam of 64 questions, delivered in 90 minutes. The exam code is C1000-162, its official title is "IBM Security QRadar SIEM V7.5 Analysis," and it leads to credential code C9005200. The exam is delivered in English, and its status was verified as Live on 20 October 2026.
This article breaks down what that criterion means in practice, how it interacts with the five published domains, and where candidates tend to misjudge their readiness. If you want the broader picture of the credential first, the overview of what the C1000-162 certification is covers the basics, and the C1000-162 requirements guide covers eligibility.
What 41 Correct Answers Actually Means
IBM expresses the pass condition as a count of correct answers rather than a scaled score, so you can plan around it directly. Forty-one out of sixty-four means you can miss as many as 23 questions and still pass. Put another way, you must answer correctly on the order of two items out of every three.
Because the criterion is a fixed count, there is no published curve or scaled conversion for you to decode. What the sources do not tell us is whether every question carries equal weight or whether any items are unscored. That is covered in the section on unknowns below, and it is a reason to prepare for breadth rather than gamble on skipping topics.
Exam Format and How Items Are Counted
The official sample questions document demonstrates three item styles: single-answer multiple choice, multiple-answer multiple choice, and an ordering or build-list task where you arrange steps in the correct sequence. The exam metadata additionally flags hot-area items, but the issuer does not specify the exact mix on any individual exam form. In other words, you should expect variety, and you should not assume the sample's proportions mirror your form.
| Item | Published Detail |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 64 |
| Time allowed | 90 minutes |
| Passing requirement | 41 correct answers |
| Language | English |
| Item styles shown in sample | Single-answer, multiple-answer, ordering/build-list |
| Additional style flagged in metadata | Hot-area items (mix per form not specified) |
| Prerequisite exam | None listed |
Ninety minutes for 64 questions works out to a little under a minute and a half per item on average. Multiple-answer and ordering items take longer to read and reason through than a simple single-answer question, so budget time accordingly. Mark any item that needs deeper analysis, finish the straightforward ones first, then return. Our difficulty guide for the C1000-162 exam discusses which question styles tend to feel most demanding.
Where Your 41 Answers Come From: Domain Weights
The study guide lists five formal exam objectives with approximate weights published by IBM. These are the lines that actually determine where your correct answers will come from. The guide treats prior knowledge (TCP/IP, IT security, browser and RegEx skills, attack types including MITRE ATT&CK, and separately licensed features such as Network Insights and Incident Forensics) as foundational, distinct from the measured objectives.
| Domain | Approximate Weight |
|---|---|
| Threat Hunting | 24% |
| Offense Analysis | 23% |
| Searching and Reporting | 21% |
| Rules and Building Block Design | 18% |
| Dashboard Management | 14% |
Applying those weights to a 64-question exam is an approximation, not a guarantee, since IBM labels them "approximate." Still, the arithmetic is informative. Threat Hunting at 24% suggests roughly 15 questions, Offense Analysis at 23% roughly 15, Searching and Reporting at 21% roughly 13, Rules and Building Block Design at 18% roughly 12, and Dashboard Management at 14% roughly 9. Treat those counts as rough planning aids only. For a fuller walkthrough of each area, see the complete guide to all five C1000-162 content areas.
Threat Hunting (24%)
The heaviest domain, and the one where analyst judgment matters most.
- Pivoting from an indicator or event into related activity
- Connecting observed behavior to attack types and MITRE ATT&CK concepts
- Using QRadar's analysis tools to form and test a hunting hypothesis
Offense Analysis (23%)
Understanding why an offense was created and what to do about it.
- Reading offense details, contributing events and flows
- Judging severity, relevance and credibility
- Deciding on investigation next steps and offense handling
Searching and Reporting (21%)
Getting the right data out of QRadar and presenting it.
- Building and refining searches, including filtering and grouping
- Using RegEx skills where the guide expects them
- Creating and scheduling reports
Rules and Building Block Design (18%)
How detection logic is constructed and reused.
- The role of rules versus building blocks
- How rule tests and conditions combine
- Where the Use Case Manager app fits into rule work
Dashboard Management (14%)
The smallest domain, but still worth roughly a tenth to an eighth of your score.
- Creating and customizing dashboards and items
- Understanding what Pulse contributes as an included app
What IBM Has Not Published
Honest score planning requires acknowledging gaps. The sources behind this article do not verify an issuer-published population pass rate, and they do not verify a renewal interval for the credential. Anyone quoting a precise pass percentage for this exam is not citing a verified IBM figure. Our own C1000-162 pass rate analysis discusses what can and cannot be said responsibly from available data.
Also unspecified are the exact breakdown of item styles on a single form and the precise count of questions per domain. Plan for the approximate weights, not exact counts.
What the Official Sample Reveals
IBM publishes a 12-page document, "Sample Questions for Exam C1000-162 IBM Security QRadar SIEM V7.5 Analysis," alongside a 34-page exam study guide. The sample is valuable for one reason in particular: it shows you how questions are phrased and which item formats to expect, including the ordering task where sequence matters.
However, the sample is explicitly not exhaustive and does not predict exam success. Doing well on twelve pages of sample material does not mean you will reach 41 correct answers on the live exam. Use it as a format primer, then broaden your preparation to the full objective list in the guide. The C1000-162 study guide lays out how to build that wider preparation.
How to use the sample productively
- Attempt every sample item cold, without notes, and record which domain each belongs to.
- For missed items, identify whether the gap was knowledge, misreading, or the item format itself.
- Rewrite each ordering item as a short procedure in your own words so you can reproduce the sequence from memory.
- Move on to broader practice, such as the C1000-162 practice tests, to test the same skills across many more scenarios.
Scope Boundaries That Cost Points
Part of reaching 41 is not wasting study time on material the exam does not measure, and not being surprised by material it does. The guide specifies V7.5 Update Package 5 Analysis as the version baseline. Several scope notes matter:
- Included apps: Use Case Manager, QRadar Assistant, Log Source Manager and Pulse.
- Excluded: other app-specific functions and QRadar on Cloud (QRoC) SaaS.
- In scope: app extensibility, even though individual app functions beyond the included four are out.
- Foundational, not measured: TCP/IP, IT security, browser and RegEx skills, attack types including MITRE ATT&CK, and separately licensed features like Network Insights and Incident Forensics.
Key Takeaway
Distinguish "assumed background" from "measured objective." You need the foundational knowledge to reason through questions, but your study hours should be allocated by the five weighted domains, not by every topic that touches QRadar.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Weights
Since the passing line is a fixed count and the domains are weighted, a sensible schedule front-loads the heavy domains while leaving time to revisit them. This is the one place generic planning belongs, and it is tied to the actual weights. A four-week frame might look like this:
Offense Analysis
- Anchor point for the rest of the exam: offenses are the output of everything else
- Work through offense details, contributing events and investigation decisions
Searching and Reporting, then Threat Hunting
- Searching skills are a prerequisite for effective hunting
- Practice RegEx and search refinement before hunting scenarios
Rules and Building Block Design, then Dashboard Management
- Cover the 18% and 14% domains while earlier material consolidates
- Review the included apps: Use Case Manager, QRadar Assistant, Log Source Manager, Pulse
Timed full-length rehearsal
- Simulate 64 questions in 90 minutes
- Revisit Threat Hunting and Offense Analysis misses first, since they carry the most weight
The logic: Offense Analysis and Searching and Reporting feed directly into Threat Hunting, so sequencing them first makes the largest domain easier to absorb. For a broader set of review aids, the C1000-162 cheat sheet is useful for last-week revision.
Delivery, Fees and Exam-Day Mechanics
The exam is a proctored, computer-based test delivered through Pearson VUE. Whether you can test at a physical center, through OnVUE online proctoring, or both depends on the selected exam and your country, so confirm availability during scheduling rather than assuming. For OnVUE, you need to complete a system check, present matching photo ID, and test in a private space. Books and notes are prohibited.
On cost, IBM-linked material recorded an indicative U.S. list fee of USD 200 in the supplied issuer review, and the current exam record confirms a price field of 200 without a currency label. Because the currency is unlabeled on the current record and local pricing or taxes can differ, confirm the final amount at checkout. The C1000-162 certification cost breakdown and the exam dates and scheduling guide cover the practical side in more detail.
Avoiding Mislabeled Information About This Code
The "C1000-162" string appears in competitor and aggregator content under conflicting labels, including descriptions like Administration or Cloud Professional Architect. IBM's own record identifies this exam as IBM Security QRadar SIEM V7.5 Analysis, an analyst-level exam. When you read third-party pages, check that the exam title, question count, duration and passing figure match the ones above. If a page cites different numbers, it is describing something else or is simply wrong.
This matters for your score planning because a wrong passing threshold or wrong domain list sends your study in the wrong direction. If you are still orienting yourself, the pages on what C1000-162 is and what the code means clear up the naming, and the training resources page points toward preparation options. IBM also has a support page about preparing for this exam that describes a two-hour course; that course length is not the exam timer, and the full article behind that page is login-restricted, so do not confuse the two.
Finally, consider why the credential matters to your goals. The ROI analysis and the C1000-162 jobs page explore the career angle, which tends to center on security operations and SIEM analyst roles where QRadar is deployed.
Frequently Asked Questions
You need 41 correct answers out of 64 questions. The exam runs 90 minutes, so you can miss up to 23 questions and still meet the passing requirement.
No issuer population pass rate was verified. IBM publishes the 41-correct-answer criterion, but not a percentage of candidates who pass. Be cautious of any site that cites a specific pass rate without IBM as the source.
Threat Hunting is largest at 24%, followed by Offense Analysis at 23% and Searching and Reporting at 21%. Rules and Building Block Design is 18% and Dashboard Management is 14%. IBM describes these weights as approximate.
No. The 12-page sample shows single-answer, multiple-answer and ordering items, but it is not exhaustive and does not predict exam success. Use it to understand format, then prepare across all five domains.
No. The study guide excludes QRadar on Cloud (QRoC) SaaS and app-specific functions beyond the included apps: Use Case Manager, QRadar Assistant, Log Source Manager and Pulse. App extensibility is in scope, and the version baseline is V7.5 Update Package 5.